Cola Very Dee

So, this time I’m not going to write about life, relationships or other things I enjoy writing about. No, this one’s about the viral song that has taken over all the speakers and headphones in India. It’s this one song called ‘Why this Kolaveri Di’. For some reason, I consider myself to be different; that it is not necessary that I should like something everyone does. And so, it took about four days of the hype for the song for me to finally listen to it. I started listening to it two days ago; I’m yet to stop. Infact, I’m listening to it while I write this post. I don’t know if it’s normal to listen to music while writing, but I do it all the time.

Reviewing music is not something I usually do, but I just had to write about this. So, this song came out on November 16 and the singer is actually an actor! The guy’s apparently a huge star in a small state in India. India is all about being multilingual; every state has its own language or two. The music in here always works great in the regional language. Not that other music doesn’t, but local language works more than anything. Everyone was very aware of this, and so, Kolaveri Di was only publicized in the state, Tamilnadu. And the video was live on Youtube on November 16. It had a million views in the next 4 days. This is not very common for an Indian song and particularly from a guy who doesn’t have a national audience.

What it is about? A heartbroken guy singing drunk about why his girl has a murderous rage against him. Well atleast that’s how Wikipedia translates it. Somehow it managed to connect with the people. The reason I like it, however, is because it is hilarious. Maybe because of the sad-in-a-way-that-it-is-funny lyrics or because of the way English is used in the song or maybe just the music. The song is fun and it is here to stay.

The reason that i decided to write about all this is not because of the fact that it is viral. It is because I loved it. That doesn’t happen very often and so, it deserved a post on my blog. Oh and it has some (bad) English lyrics too, so if you’d like, here’s the song this is all about:

.

Why Not?

11 thoughts on “Cola Very Dee

  1. Karthik, so informative you are about all the different languages/dialects in India. Thanks, man. Otherwise, I would have thought I was just tripping out when I saw the title of this post and thought about a fantasy commercial for Coca-Cola which was claiming “cola” produced “veri-tas” (clarity) in our muddled brains. Now you say this singer is a heartbroken drunk? See how that works? I am blown away by the endless twists on the English language we ALL engage in. This is a most entertaining post and I thank you.

  2. I dint play this song for a week even though half my friends in facebook had shared it. Two days ago I decided to give it a try. Haven’t stopped playing it after that. It’s complete nonsense and still awesome :)

  3. Has that “off” English like Jamaican and Haitian patois that is popular here in Miami , Florida. Same basic beat too. Naturally lot of stuff like this in Spanish/ English mix here too. I think it is an absolute hoot to hear the style of African American ghetto rap in Russian or German. It seems just so funny to me.

Your views, please:

